Breaking News

Kosciusko County, Indiana

The homepage for the government of Kosciusko County, Indiana

Topics of Interest

More Information

Contact Us

100 W Center St
Warsaw, IN 46580
Get Directions

County Council

Kosciusko County Council is made up of:

 Doug Heinisch Mike Long Ernie Wiggins
Doug Heinisch
Mike Long
District 2
Ernie Wiggins
District 3 - Vice President
Jon Garber
Joni Truex
sue mitchell
Jon Garber
District 4 & President
Joni Truex 
At Large
Sue Ann Mitchell
At Large
      Kim Cates   
Kimberly Cates
At Large

Terms are four years with the ability to serve an unlimited number of terms. The County Council has the ultimate decision-making power regarding fiscal affairs.  The council has authority to view or review fiscal matters, determine proper policy, and set priorities for the allocation and expenditure of county funds.  The General Assembly determines the powers of the county council in this area. Typically these powers include.

  • Approving and fixing annual operating budgets of all county government offices and agencies.
  • Establishing salaries, wages, per diems, and other compensation for all county officials and employees.
  • Fixing tax rates and establishing levies on all county property for the purpose of raising funds to meet budget requirements in conducting county business as well as authorizing the borrowing of money in the form of bonds and notes.
  • Appropriating public funds, i.e., authorizing the expenditure of county money by particular officials or departments for specific purposes.
  • Authorizing certain purchases or sales of county owned land.
  • Non-binding review of budgets for certain non-elected boards in the county and other civil units.
  • Makes various appointments to boards including but not limited to the following:
    • Kosciusko County Convention and Visitors Commission
    • Various Library Boards